Our Work

Applied Diversity is a method as well as a form of working. As a form of working it may take the shape of our work partnership. As a method it is a circular movement in which the foundational research of diversity informs our work, while the insights of our collaboration in turn expedite reasearch.

Our work partnership is precisely described by three notions: absolute presence, deceleration and transformation. So what does that mean?

Firstly, that all fruitful dealing with one’s very own otherness is possible only through acknowledging and accepting the status quo. Lived diversity is the radical acceptance of the Now. It is only through mindfulness towards one’s very own competences as well as limits that the essential question can be answered: How do I deal wisely with my own recources?

Secondly it means that the coming together of two people with individual paces results in a different tempo. Deceleration implies: Things happen according to new measures. Our work for examples follows the paradigm of effectiveness instead of the paradigm of efficiency: „As good as possible, as quickly as necessary“. We see things from a different perspective – and thus see the limits within the system. This is why Applied Diversity is a laboratory for innovative strategies.

And, thirdly: We do strike that new path. Transformation is the expansion of what we think possible – personally as well as societal.

Applied Diversity is a decisive turning away from the mindset of deficiency. Not: despite. But: because. Diversity is a resource. And it is wise to use it.

Angewandte Diversity

Angewandte Diversity ist eine Methode ebenso wie eine Arbeitsform. Als Arbeitsform hat sie zum Beispiel die Gestalt unserer Arbeitspartnerschaft. Als Methode ist sie eine Kreisbewegung, bei der die Grundlagenforschung der Diversity einfliesst in unseren Arbeitsprozess, während die Erkenntnisse aus unserer Zusammenarbeit wiederum die Forschung weitertreiben.

Unsere Arbeitpartnerschaft ist präzise mit drei Begriffen beschrieben: absolute Präsenz, Entschleunigung und Transformation. Was bedeutet das?

Erstens, dass jeder fruchtbare Umgang mit der eigenen Andersartigkeit nur möglich ist, wenn man den Ist-Zustand erkennt und annimmt. Gelebte Diversity ist die radikale Akzeptanz des Ist. Nur in der Achtsamkeit gegenüber den eigenen Kompetenzen und den eigenen Grenzen lässt sich die zentrale Frage beantworten: Wie gehe ich am klügsten mit meinen Ressourcen um?

Es bedeutet zweitens, dass sich aus dem Zusammentreffen zweier Menschen mit unterschiedlichen Geschwindigkeiten ein anderes Tempo ergibt. Entschleunigung heisst: Die Dinge finden nach anderen Massgaben statt. Unsere Arbeit etwa folgt weniger dem Paradigma der Effizienz als vielmehr dem der Effektivität: „So gut wie möglich, so schnell als nötig“. Wir nehmen eine andere Perspektive ein und sehen so die Begrenzungen im System. Deshalb ist die Angewandte Diversity ein Laboratorium für innovative Ansätze.

Und, drittens: Wir gehen diesen anderen Weg. Die Transformation ist die Verschiebung des Möglichkeitshorizonts, die Erweiterung dessen, was wir als möglich denken – persönlich wie gesellschaftlich.

Angewandte Diversity ist die Abkehr vom Defizitdenken. Nicht: trotzdem. Sondern: gerade weil. Andersartigkeit ist eine Ressource. Und es ist klug, sie zu nutzen.